This Man Reads…. Proposed January Reads

Proposed January Reading Challenge Reads!

 

In order to reach my goal of reading 60 books in 2017, I will need to read an average of five books per month.Here are my proposed reads for January of 2017

Reading Challenge: Nonfiction
  1. How to Run the World Parag Khanna

I read Connectivity by Parag Khanna a few months ago. I was fascinated by his analysis of the way that the supply chain has connected the world. This book was written a few years before Connectivity. I love geography and love to learn about the world around me, and right now Parag Khanna may be the best writing about it today!

Reading Challenge: Science Fiction

2. Lazarus War: Artefact – Jamie Sawyer

I have wanted to read this book and series for a while now. I used my Christmas Gift Card to Barnes and Noble to finally buy it!

“Artefact “is book one of The Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series from one of the brightest new stars in science fiction – perfect for fans of “The Edge of Tomorrow,” “Alien” and James S. A. Corey‘s Expanse series. Jack Campbell, author of the Lost Fleet novels calls it “a gripping read that moves at warp speed.” Read More

Reading Challenge: Mystery /Thriller – New to Me Author

3. The Killing Kind – Chris Holm

Ok so earlier I said that I was going to use Mystery Scene Magazine to discover “new to me” authors. Well, Chris Holm is the first new author that I have discovered through the magazine. The Killing Kind won the 2016 Anthony Award for Best Novel back in September.

I have always heard about the Anthony Awards but never really set out to discover what they were until now! From Wikipedia

The Anthony Awards are literary awards for mystery writers presented at the Bouchercon World Mystery Convention since 1986. The awards are named for Anthony Boucher (1911–1968), one of the founders of the Mystery Writers of America.[1] Among the most prestigious awards in the world of mystery writers, the Anthony Awards have helped boost the careers of many recipients Read More

Now back to The Killing Kind: From Goodreads

A hitman who only kills other hitmen winds up a target himself.

Michael Hendricks kills people for money. That aside, he’s not so bad a guy.

Once a covert operative for a false-flag unit of the US military, Hendricks was presumed dead after a mission in Afghanistan went sideways. He left behind his old life–and beloved fiancée–and set out on a path of redemption…or perhaps one of willful self-destruction.

Now Hendricks makes his living as a hitman entrepreneur of sorts–he only hits other hit me Read More

Sounds good to me!

 

Reading Challenge: Literature Reading Challenge: Award Winner

4. All That Man Is – David Szalay – Awards:Man Booker Prize Nominee (2016), Gordon Burn Prize (2016)

I chose this book to take me out of my comfort zone. It meets the Literature challenge as an award winner. From Goodreads:

A magnificent and ambitiously conceived portrait of contemporary life, by a genius of realism.

Nine men. Each of them at a different stage in life, each of them away from home, and each of them striving–in the suburbs of Prague, in an overdeveloped Alpine village, beside a Belgian motorway, in a dingy Cyprus hotel–to understand what it means to be alive, here and now. Tracing a dramatic arc from the spring of youth to the winter of old age, the ostensibly separate narratives of All That Man Is aggregate into a picture of a single shared existence, a picture that interrogates the state of modern manhood while bringing to life, unforgettably, the physical and emotional terrain of an increasingly globalized Europe. And so these nine lives form an ingenious and new kind of novel, in which David Szalay expertly plots a dark predicament for the twenty-first-century man. Read More

Reading Challenge: Mystery/Thrillers – Current Mystery Author

 

5. Ruler of the Night – David Morrell

I have been a fan of the novels of David Morrell since I read The Brotherhood of the Rose and The Fraternity of the Stone back in the 1980s. Ruler of the Night is the last book in the trilogy featuring opium-eating Thomas De Quincey

Like David Morrell’s previous De Quincey novels, Ruler of the Night blends fact and fiction to an exceptional degree, this time focusing on a real-life Victorian murder so startling that it changed the culture-in this case, the first murder on an English train. The brutality of the crime stoked the fears of a generation who believed that the newly invented railway would “annihilate time and space.” Read More

If I am able to finish these five books this month that should get my reading year off to a great start. So wish me well! Anybody want to join me? Wish Me Good Luck! Now it’s back to Lazarus War!