Tag Archive: Robert Crais

The Monkey’s Raincoat – Robert Crais (Elvis Cole #1)

The Monkey's Raincoat

Robert Crais began the Elvis Cole/Joe Pike series in 1987 with the release of The Monkey’s Raincoat. Since then Crais has written fourteen more novels featuring the two members of  Elvis’ detective agency. I have read seven of the novels, starting with 1993’s release Free Fall (Book #4) and ending with Book #11 Chasing Darkness in 2008. (I missed No 6 Sunset Express released in 1996). I also missed books 1,2 and 3! Don’t ask me why!.

read more

Book 28 – The First Rule

Book 28 of 2010 is the second book by Robert Crais that features Joe Pike as the lead character, The First Rule. Crais usual lead character is Pike’s partner and the self proclaimed “World’s Greatest Detective” Elvis Cole. There are eleven books in the Elvis Cole series in that series Joe Pike typically plays a supporting role. Pike is an ex-LAPD officer with a shady military past as a mercenary and it’s usually his job to appear mysteriously and save the day and he does it well!

read more